• Important Update from the Founder: After a year of growth, changes are coming to Discussion Bucks. Read the full announcement here.

• Heads-up! The site will undergo scheduled maintenance on Saturday, September 21, 2024, starting at 11:00 PM UTC (7:00 PM Eastern Time). During this time, the site will be temporarily offline, but rest assured, everything will be backed up beforehand. Thank you for your understanding!

- Fords8

At what age can children be entrusted with money?

deucher

Community Advocate
Literary Virtuoso
Registered Member
Reaction score
D Bucks
💵0.006625
Referral Credit
my parents gave me the first money only when I started studying in the 7th grade, and it was already quite late, so I did a lot of things wrong, and in the future I had to learn about finances myself, because my parents did not even give me basic concepts

Personally I think it mainly depends on the maturity level of the child in terms of mental reasoning. Giving the child late does not necessary mean they would be mature in spending it. Also how you train them also matters.

What do you mean by the first money? Is it the first money that you are obliged to a make independent decisions on how you spend it? I would have taken my child through financial education before 10 and by 10, I entrust him or her with some bulk money to make independent decisions financially.

my parents gave me the first money only when I started studying in the 7th grade, and it was already quite late, so I did a lot of things wrong, and in the future I had to learn about finances myself, because my parents did not even give me basic concepts
I used to send my children to buy things from the shop when they were about 8years old and then the slowly learned to manage money.

At least age 10 a child should know about money management. You teach them how to save and how to spend it wisely.