• Support Discussion Bucks in the Agora Referral Contest!

Join us in the Agora forums referral contest and help Discussion Bucks rise to the top! Every referral counts.

Click Here to Support Us!

How much money do you need for a six-month emergency fund?

freelancermaria

Discussion Guru
Bronze Supporter
Literary Virtuoso
Registered Member
Reaction score
D Bucks
💵5.665863
Referral Credit
I am not entirely sure how to go about saving for a six-month emergency fund because I'm just getting started. Haha. On the other hand, I have heard that they figure out how much to save for an emergency fund by adding up all of their monthly expenses plus an additional 20 to 30 percent. How about you?

It all depends on the income of the person. If his income is below poverty line he can never have an emergency saving. Those who good salaries rely on their medical insurance, ours in Ph the PHILHEALTH, or SSS. It's still better to have an emergency fund.

It depends on your health and whether you have any dependent relative, have to travel. In the last few months I am traveling every month due to medical reasons and I have to spend far more on travel expenses, like air tickets and medicines.

It all depends on the income of the person. If his income is below poverty line he can never have an emergency saving. Those who good salaries rely on their medical insurance, ours in Ph the PHILHEALTH, or SSS. It's still better to have an emergency fund.
Yes, it depends. If he or she is a minimum wage earner, it can be hard to build an emergency fund. That is one of the problems of most Filipinos.

Yes, it depends. If he or she is a minimum wage earner, it can be hard to build an emergency fund. That is one of the problems of most Filipinos.
That is right, many oldies are struggling financially because they are old and have no pension. They did not have a work when they were

younger, they never see the future as risky and scary.